During a meeting, you can quickly enable or disable certain settings from the meeting controls toolbar to secure the meeting and minimize disruption, including locking the meeting, enabling waiting room, and suspending participant activities.
We recommend that you double-check these settings prior to admitting particpants from the waiting room.
Note: There are some meeting controls embedded in other Zoom tools. Please see those underneath the host tools shown below.
To use the Zoom host tools:
More info about these tools:
1. Start your Zoom meeting.
2. Click the Host Tools button on your meeting toolbar.
3. Click a setting to enable it, disable it, or adjust the setting.
Lock meeting: Locks the meeting, preventing new participants from joining the meeting.
Enable waiting room: Turns the waiting room on or off. (Note: VCS has enabled the waiting room to ensure security of your meeting.)
Share screen: Allows participants to share their screens. (Note: VCS has disabled screen sharing students for students to ensure the security of your meeting. You can enable this for students, though.)
Chat: Allows participants to chat.
Unmute themselves: Allows participants to unmute themselves without the host's permission.
Start video: Allows participants to start their video in the meeting without the host's permission.
Share docs: Allows participants to open and share Zoom Docs.
Share whiteboards: Allows participants to open and share a Zoom Whiteboard.
Request host to start cloud recording: Allows participants to send a request to the host to start recording to the cloud.
Turn all off: Turn off all participants' video, audio, Zoom Apps, and ability to share their screen. Also locks the meeting to prevent participants from joining. This will apply to all participants, including those joined using a Zoom Room.
There are also more tools in the Participants, Chat, and Screen Share panel menus:
Participant Panel Tools
Open the participants pane and click the ... button in the lower right
Check on or off various settings.
Chat Panel Tools
Open the chat pane and click the ... button in the upper right
Check on or off various settings.
Screen Share Tools
You can enable/disable annotation for students when sharing your screen.
Comments
0 comments
Please sign in to leave a comment.